Of Sea and Cloud

OF SEA AND CLOUD
jon keller

Buy now from Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | Apple

“A gorgeously-written exploration of faith and loyalty, love and dishonesty. . . . I will never forget these characters, these waters, or the harrowing dramas unfolded upon and beneath them.”
—Anthony Doerr, author of All the Light We Cannot See

 

DESCRIPTION

Nicolas Graves raised his sons to be lobstermen. Bill and Joshua (known as Jonah) Graves grew up aboard their father’s boat—the Cinderella—learning the rules and rites of the antiquated business they love. But when their father is lost at sea and the price of lobster crashes worldwide, Bill and Jonah must decide how much they are willing to risk for their family legacy.

Standing against them is Osmond Raymond— former Calvinist minister, mystic, captain of the Sanctity, and their father’s business partner for more than twenty years. Together with his grandson and heir, Julius, Osmond is determined to push the Graves family out of their lobster pound, regardless of the cost or the consequences.

In the tradition of Russell Banks’ Affliction, Annie Proulx’s The Shipping News or Philipp Meyer’s The Son, Of Sea and Cloud is a powerful, haunting novel that, with extraordinary depth and compassion, explores the relationships between fathers and sons, tradition and change, and the surprising ways in which globalization is affecting some of the most isolated harbors on this planet.

PRAISE

“The rich lore of the Maine lobstermen combines with an energetic narrative and muscular prose to make Keller’s fiction debut a winner.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Keller’s debut novel examines the tough and hardscrabble world of Maine fishing families. With Shakespearean overtones, Keller’s immersive story examines the difficult choices that are made when a family legacy is at stake. His well-crafted narrative builds into an epic story of addiction, greed, betrayal, and the vast power of the sea.”
—Library Journal

“Of Sea and Cloud is dark, poetic, and at turns terrifying. Set against the harsh Maine coast, it tells the story of a people inextricably connected to their land, and of what happens when that land is threatened. Ultimately, this is a novel about love in all its forms and failures. Jon Keller writes with such heart that the characters and their home live with me still.”
—Abi Maxwell, author of Lake People

“A gorgeously-written exploration of faith and loyalty, love and dishonesty. . . . I will never forget these characters, these waters, or the harrowing dramas unfolded upon and beneath them.”
—Anthony Doerr, NYT bestselling author of All The Light We Cannot See

“Exquisitely well-written, relentlessly compelling, this story of fathers and sons and lovers, of love and greed and betrayal, elevates the desperate lives of lobstermen into Shakespearean tragedy. This novel set its hooks quickly, and held me rapt until the brutal, beautiful, end. Of Sea and Cloud is timeless drama of the highest order, both thrilling and wise, and Jon Keller is an extraordinary new voice in fiction.”
—Alan Heathcock, award-winning author of Volt

“A bleak and beautiful story of a family of fog-shrouded lobstermen caught in the heavy vice of change, told in a voice that is part-Dennis Lehane, part-Melville, and part-Homer, and all Jon Keller. The book’s dark mystic, Osmond Randolph, will haunt me for weeks to come.”
—Christian Kiefer, author of The Infinite Tides

“Of Sea and Cloud is a remarkable read, a first novel that captures a blood and breath drama that is both gripping and evocative.”
—Debra Magpie Earling, author of Perma Red

“With measured and powerful prose, Jon Keller writes a timeless story of manhood, loss and the bonds of family.”
—Chris Offutt, author of No Heroes: A Memoir of Coming Home

“. . . a bone-chilling story of brotherhood, trust, and betrayal. It belongs in the canon of great American maritime novels, alongside Hemingway and Melville.”
—Tyler Mcmahon, author of How the Mistakes Were Made and Kilometer 99

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts